Idaho Non-Resident Permit Process
AFT offers a great way to get your non-resident concealed carry permit in Idaho!
Our class, Introduction to Pistol Safety, includes everything you need to know to get your non-resident concealed carry permit in the state of Idaho. Here's the best part, it can all be done online in under ninety minutes. Our online course Introduction to Pistol Safety is by far the most popular method to satisfy the educational requirements to get your concealed pistol permit. The class itself is all online and free, and the completion certificate costs only $89.99.
Process to get your Non-Resident Concealed Carry Permit
It has become increasingly simple in Idaho to get your resident concealed carry permit. Here are the state requirements:
1. Establish gun safety knowledge - This can be done in many ways per the Idaho state code...the most popular methods are:
(a) Completion of any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the department of fish and game or a similar agency of another state;
(b) Completion of any national rifle association firearms safety or training course or any national rifle association hunter education course;
(c) Completion of any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by a law enforcement agency, community college, college, university, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school, utilizing instructors certified by the national rifle association or the Idaho state police;
(d) Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of a law enforcement agency or security enforcement agency;
(e) Presents evidence or equivalent experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competition or military service;
(f) Is licensed or has been licensed to carry a firearm in this state or a county or municipality, unless the license has been revoked for cause; or
(g) Completion of any firearms training or training or safety course or class conducted by a state certified or national rifle association certified firearms instructor.
Introduction to Pistol Safety falls under the last section (g). Our course is taught by a state certified law enforcement instructor.
2. Apply in person at any sherriff department in the state of Idaho, if you would like to fill out the permit application ahead of time, you may request an application be sent to you from any sherrifs department through the mail.
For list of sherrif department and telephone numbers in the state of Idaho refer to post.idaho.gov
3. The sheriff will take your finger prints and collect a $20 fee. They then have up to 90 days to furnish you with your permit which is good for 5 years.