Non-Resident New Mexico Permit

The laws governing the legal use, storage and carrying of firearms are constantly changing. Below are the applicable laws in the State of  as of 4/16/2013. The below information is designed to be a guide and not the final word. If you have specific questions, please refer to the State of New Mexico legislation at dps.nm.org. Another great resource is the New Mexico Department of Public Safety.

The State of New Mexico will not issue a Non-Resident Concealed Handgun Permit.  If you are moving to the State of New Mexico it is possible that you can transfer your current resident license to New Mexico.

10.8.2.17-B. To transfer a license from another state. A person seeking to transfer a license from another state may file an application for a New Mexico renewed license on the form prescribed by the department. An applicant for transfer shall not carry a concealed handgun in New Mexico until the applicant receives a New Mexico license unless they have a license from a state that has been accepted by transfer, recognition or reciprocity by New Mexico.

(1) In addition to the filings required by Paragraph 3 of Subsection A of this section, the applicant for transfer shall file:
(a) proof of citizenship as provided in Subsection A of 10.8.2.12 NMAC;
(b) proof of residency as provided in Subsection B of 10.8.2.12 NMAC;
(c) proof of age as provided in Subsection C of 10.8.2.12 NMAC; and
(d) a photocopy of the license being transferred.

(2) The applicant for transfer shall complete:
(a) a refresher firearms training course if the firearms training required by the other state meets or exceeds New Mexico firearms training requirements and the licensee completed firearms training not more than 1 year prior to filing the application; or
(b) an initial firearms training course if the firearms training required by the other state does not meet New Mexico firearms training requirements or the licensee completed firearms training more than 1 year prior to filing the application.

(3) The applicant for transfer must meet all other requirements for obtaining a license in New Mexico by showing either that:
(a) the requirements for licensure in the other state meet or exceed the requirements for issuance of a license in New Mexico; or
(b) the applicant has satisfactorily completed the requirements for issuance of a license in New Mexico that were not applicable in the other state.

If you have questions about our course, feel free to email us at info@shootsafe.org.  Make sure you include your name, the state whose permit you are pursuing, and if you need a call back, a phone number.  We're happy to help.