To obtain a resident Oregon concealed carry permit, the process is quite simple. You simply need to follow the following steps:
1. Demonstrate firearm competence through a certificate or an affidavit from a certified instructor. AFT's class, Introduction to Pistol Safety fills this requirement.
2. Fill out the Oregon Concealed Carry Application for the county in which you are applying, at your local sheriff's office.
3. Submit both of these documents to the sheriff, along with fees totaling $65 for the sheriff's department to process the application and the Oregon State Police to run the background check.
You will be finger printed and your photograph will be taken for your license. Turn around times can vary. Your permit will be good for 4 years.
For additional information, check out the Oregon Permit Website.
The requirements for a resident to get a permit are below:
1. Citizen of the United States; or Is a legal resident alien who can document continuous residency in the county for at least six months and has declared in writing to the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services the intent to acquire citizenship status and can present proof of the written declaration to the sheriff at the time of application for the license
2. 21 or older.
3. Not a convicted felon.
4. Not convicted or found guilty of a misdemeanor.
5. No outstanding warrants for your arrest or free on any form of pretrial release.
6. Demonstrates competence with a handgun per ORS 166.291(f).
This can be done through taking our course Introduction to Pistol Safety.
By the letter of Oregon law, to apply for your concealed carry permit, you need one of the following types of training:
- Completion of any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the State Department of Fish and Wildlife or a similar agency of another state if handgun safety was a component of the course;
- Completion of any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course if handgun safety was a component of the course;
- Completion of any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by law enforcement, community college, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or a law enforcement agency if handgun safety was a component of the course;
- Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, reserve law enforcement officers or any other law enforcement officers if handgun safety was a component of the course;
- Presents evidence of equivalent experience with a handgun through participation in organized shooting competition or military service;
- Is licensed or has been licensed to carry a firearm in this state, unless the license has been revoked; or
- Completion of any firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a firearms instructor certified by a law enforcement agency or the National Rifle Association if handgun safety was a component of the course;
The last of these is the category that our class falls under. Our online gun safety course is taught by an active police officer and SWAT tactical operative.